AAAS "Catalyzing Advocacy in Science and Engineering" Workshop Student Competition

American Association for the Advancement of Science
"Catalyzing Advocacy in Science and Engineering" Workshop Student Competition

2017 Winners

Adalyn FyhrieAdalyn Fyhrie
Astrophysical and Planetary Science, University of Colorado Boulder

Adalyn Fyhrie is a fourth-year Ph.D. candidate in the Astrophysical and Planetary Science department at the University of Colorado, Boulder. Her thesis work revolves around developing and testing ultra sensitive far-infrared detectors for future space-based telescopes. In addition, she is studying carbon monoxide gas dynamics in the galaxy NGC 6240, a galaxy which is actually comprised of two galaxies merging together. Adalyn is passionate about improving the lines of communication between professional scientists and the rest of society, and plans to make a career of this work post-graduation. She believes that science-based policy decisions will serve our country best, and that the most effective way to advocate for these types of decisions is through a mutual understanding between scientists and non-scientists.

Caroline HavrillaCaroline Havrilla
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Colorado Boulder

Caroline (“Carrie”) Havrilla is third-year Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology. Her research broadly seeks to understand the mechanisms that underlie vascular plant community structure and diversity in terrestrial ecosystems, and how anthropogenic drivers impact these processes. Carrie is currently studying biological soil crusts, ubiquitous soil microbial communities in dryland ecosystems, and their role in mediating plant communities and broader ecosystem functioning. She works closely with public land managers to develop research and novel solutions to management challenges in drylands of southwestern United States. Post-graduate school, her professional goals include creating innovative approaches to effectively incorporate ecological research into land management practices and decision-making by policymakers, and applying interdisciplinary science to solve complex problems in a changing world.

Past Winners

2016 Winners  
Angela Boag Angela Boag
Environmental Studies
University of Colorado Boulder
Nicholas Valcourt Sarah Welsh-Huggins
Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering
University of Colorado Boulder
2015 Winners  
Thomas Reynolds Thomas Reynolds
Chemical and Biological Engineering
University of Colorado Boulder
Nicholas Valcourt Nicholas Valcourt
Civil Systems Engineering
University of Colorado Boulder
2014 Winners  
Emily Pugach Emily Pugach
Molecular, Cell and Development Biology
University of Colorado Boulder
Chris Schaefbauer Chris Schaefbauer
Computer Science
University of Colorado Boulder