CSTPR Seminars

Fall 2018

All talks will be held in CSTPR Conference Room at 1333 Grandview Avenue from 12:00 - 1:00 PM (*unless otherwise noted)

All talks free and open to the public

Angela BoagSeptember 19, 2018 at 12:00 PM
Angela Boag
Environmental Studies Program, University of Colorado Boulder
Winner of the 2017 Radford Byerly Award

Private Forest Owners and Climate Change Adaptation: How Science and Society Will Shape Future Forests
Webcast | More InformationPresentation Slides


Fernando BrionesOctober 17, 2018 at 12:00 PM
Fernando Briones
Consortium for Capacity Building, Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research

Local Responses to Disasters in Peru and Puerto Rico: An Approach from Zero-Order Responders
Webcast | More InformationPresentation Slides


Lydia MesslingOctober 24, 2018 at 12:00 PM
Lydia Messling
Leverhulme Trust Doctoral Scholar, University of Reading

Climate Change Scientists as Policy Advocates?: Navigating the Tensions Between Scientific Independence, Poor Policy, and Avoiding a Dangerous World
Webcast | More InformationPresentation Slides


David OonkOctober 31, 2018 at 12:00 PM
David Oonk
ATLAS Institute, University of Colorado

Fracking and Technological Momentum: Risks, Hazards and Features of the Oil and Gas Extraction System in Colorado
More InformationPresentation Slides


AAAS "Catalyzing Advocacy in Science and Engineering" Workshop Student CompetitionNovember 28, 2018 at 12:00 PM

AAAS "Catalyzing Advocacy in Science and Engineering" Workshop Student Competition Panel Discussion

Past competition winners, Julia Bakker-Arkema, Kaitlin McCreery, Adalyn Fyhrie, and Nicholas Valcourt
Moderator: Heather Bené, University of Colorado Office of Government Relations
Webcast | More Information