2018 Radford Byerly, Jr. Award in Science and Technology Policy

2017 Radford Byerly, Jr. Award in Science and Technology Policy

CSTPR is offering a $1500 award to an eligible CU-Boulder student.
Application Deadline is December 4, 2017.

This award is named in honor of Rad Byerly, who earned a B.A. and M.A. in physics at Williams College, and a Ph.D. in physics at Rice University.  After several years in laboratory research as a postdoctoral fellow at the Joint Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics (JILA), at CU-Boulder, Rad moved to Washington, D.C., for a long career in science policy.  He served more than twenty years as staff on the Science Committee of the U.S. House of Representatives, ultimately as staff director to Chairman George E. Brown (D-CA) who believed, as did Rad, that government-funded scientific research had a duty to serve society and its citizens as well as to expand knowledge of the natural world.  In the late 1980s Rad also directed the Center for Space and Geosciences Policy at CU-Boulder, and at the end of his career, delighted in mentoring and working with graduate students at CSTPR/CIRES as they grappled with problems of science, politics, and public policy.

Award Eligibility

Applicants must be full-time, CU-Boulder campus, degree-seeking graduate students in good standing in any academic department.

Award Criteria

  • A commitment to making a significant contribution to science and technology policy through a career in academia; state, local, or federal government service; the private sector; voluntary organizations; journalism and the media; or some other form of public service that advances the role of science and technology in service to society.

  • Demonstrated potential for such contributions through publications, community outreach and organization, or paid and/or voluntary employment either on or off campus.

  • High academic achievement.

Application Process

Applicants shall submit a two-page statement describing how they meet the criteria for the award; an unofficial academic transcript; CV; and one letter of recommendation by midnight December 4, 2017 to ami.nacu-schmidt@colorado.edu. The award will be distributed January 2018.

The award recipient is expected to make one presentation in CSTPR's noontime seminar series on a topic of his/her choice and write one article for the CSTPR blog, Prometheus in Fall 2018.

Applicants will be notified by December 15, 2017

Past Award Winners

Lauren Gifford was chosen to receive the first Byerly award in 2017.

Biography: Lauren Gifford is a PhD candidate in Geography at CU Boulder. Her research explores the intersection of global climate change policy, conservation, markets and justice. Her dissertation asks how, and by whom, climate and conservation policies are enacted– with a focus on forest carbon offset development in Maine and Peru. She is an appointed member of the City of Boulder’s Human Relations Commission, is a long-time environmental justice advocate, and has been an active participant in the United Nations climate change negotiation process. She holds an MA in Environmental Studies from Dartmouth College and a BA in Communications from American University.