Changes in the House Science and Technology Committee

January 29th, 2009

Posted by: admin

This past week the House Science and Technology Committee formally organized, setting subcommittee assignments and committee leadership.  Bart Gordon (D-TN) remains chair, and Ralph Hall (R-TX) remains ranking member.  Over 10 members are new to the committee for this Congress.  The five subcommittees remain as they did for the 110th Congress, with the following members leading them for the 111th.  Specific leadership assignments after the jump.

• Subcommittee on Energy and the Environment

Brian Baird, D-WA, chairman  (Baird moves over from leading the Research and Science Education subcommittee)

Bob Inglis, R-SC, ranking member

• Subcommittee on Investigations and Oversight

Brad Miller, D-NC, chairman

Paul Broun, R-GA, ranking member (new to the position)

• Subcommittee on Research and Science Education

Daniel Lipinski, D-IL, chairman (new to the position)

Vernon J. Ehlers, R-MI, ranking member

• Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics

Gabrielle Giffords, D-AZ, chairman (new chair)

Pete Olson, R-TX, ranking member (new ranking member ETA: and new to Congress)

• Subcommittee on Technology and Innovation

David Wu, D-OR, chairman

Adrian Smith, R-NE, ranking member (new ranking member ETA: not new to committee as previously noted)

3 Responses to “Changes in the House Science and Technology Committee”

  1. Shep Says:

    Mr. Smith (NE) is not new to the Committee, he served during the 110th as well. Pete Olson, however, is new to the Committee and Congress, having defeated former Space Chairman Nick Lampson in November.

  2. 2
  3. Roger Pielke, Jr. Says:

    Iapetus returns, welcome back ;-)

  4. 3
  5. David Bruggeman Says:

    Hmm. CQ reported Smith as new to the Committee…but I certainly defer to your expertise. Post has been edited.